Frontier Follies: Adventures in Marriage & Motherhood in the Middle of Nowhere by Ree Drummond


“From her beginnings as an early blogger, Ree Drummond has become a household name with a passionate following of devoted fans. On her blog, in her magazine, and on her cooking show, Ree shares recipes, tales of her adventures in the country, and stories of everyday life with her four children and cowboy/rancher husband.

In this down-to-earth and charming book, Ree shares real-life anecdotes about parenting from her own unique vantage point. While her busy life is constantly full of new surprises, what’s most important to her is family. Over the years she’s learned a few things about balancing motherhood with a million other things, and now she offers the wisdom of her experiences; the ups, the downs, the bumps in the road, the laughter and the tears; in stories brimming with the relatable wit and humor found in her cookbooks and her bestselling love story, The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels.

A celebration of motherhood, family, love, and laughter, Frontier Follies is a keepsake to treasure and share with the wonderful women in your life.”

-Synopsis from Goodreads


I have been a fan of the Pioneer Woman for years. I love her show on Food Network, her website, and her magazine. I was excited to read this book and learn a little more of the behind-the-scenes of her life.

Cover of Frontier Follies: Adventures in Marriage & Motherhood in the Middle of Nowhere by Ree Drummond
Cover image from Goodreads

Frontier Follies: Adventures in Marriage & Motherhood in the Middle of Nowhere feels like a conversation between Ree and the reader as though the reader is an old friend, catching up with Ree over coffee.

The book is divided up into five sections: Marriage, Motherhood, The Whole Fam Damily, Country Life, and New Territory. There isn’t really a chronological order being followed, but I think that’s what made this such a fun read. You don’t really know who the chapter will be about, unless their name is in the title, but you know that you’re going to be laughing at some point either way.

The chapters range from stories about her pregnancies, to what it’s like living on the ranch (and the difference between a ranch and a farm), homeschooling, and how Ree discovered she has misophonia (the “hatred of sounds”). One of the more series chapters talks about why used to think she was not the right mom for one of her kids, because she wasn’t crafty and she always dressed up, unlike other moms who tended to wear shorts and t-shirts.

Some of my favorite stories were the ones about life on the ranch and what it’s like living in the country. We have gotten to see a lot of that already through her Food Network show, so I could perfectly picture it all while I was reading including pretty much every family member mentioned who has also appeared on the show.

This book was very funny and fun to read. I would definitely recommend it if you are looking for something lighthearted that will make you laugh, or if you want to learn more about Ree Drummond’s life.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s